Search  

Hunting And Fishing Licenses

Hunting & Fishing Licenses
Where do I obtain a Hunting and/or Fishing license?

Maine residents may obtain a hunting and/or fishing license from the Town Clerk's office during regular business hours.

Licenses are also available for purchase online through the Department of Inland Fisheries.

Who needs a fishing license?
A Maine resident 16 years of age or older and non-residents 12 years of age or older are required to obtain a valid fishing license prior to fishing in inland and/or salt waters or prior to transporting fish taken from inland and/or salt waters.
Who needs a hunting license?

Anyone aged 10 years or over must obtain a license to hunt wild birds or wild animals. Children aged 10 to 16 years must possess a Junior Hunt license to hunt; a Junior Hunt license holder who turns 16 may hunt with that Junior Hunt license for the remainder of the year.

Hunters 16 years of age or older must possess an Adult license to hunt.

Who is considered a Maine resident?

A Maine resident is a citizen of the United States who has been domiciled in Maine prior to applying for any license or permit. Qualifications of a Maine resident are:

  1.  if registered to vote, registered in Maine:
  2.  if licensed to drive, have Maine driver's license;
  3. if own a motor vehicle, registered in Maine; and
  4. complied with the State of Maine income tax laws.
What are the requirements for obtaining a hunting license?

Applicants for an adult hunting license must show proof of having previously held an adult license to hunt with firearms in any year beginning with 1976 or successful completion of an approved hunter safety course from this or any other state.

Residents must provide proof of residency when applying for a license.

To obtain an adult archery hunting license, you must show proof of having held an adult license to hunt with bow and arrow in any year after 1979 or successful completion of an archery education course.